Boys should be Boys

boys

What I’m reading: Mud, Sweat, and Tears by Bear Grylls

Being a mother of a boy, I’m always interested in stories I believe will inspire and remind me that boys will be boys. This autobiography makes me smile. There are plenty of rough and tumble stories of outdoor adventures, achievements and narrow escapes.

Boys are born to become heroes, champions, protectors and providers, and those men who achieve such character are worthy of the highest respect.

I’m a woman, capable of doing most things myself, but I’m quite happy to say I’m so glad I don’t have to. I love and embrace the differences God designed in men and women. Back off feminists.

Heroes of my stories will have their flaws. After all, how interesting is a guy without a little wild in his heart? But they will always be men worthy of respect.

I think I am in good company in my belief. Even Anne of Green Gables agrees: “I wouldn’t marry anyone who was really wicked, but I think I’d like it if he could be wicked and wouldn’t”

Bear calls this “controlled aggression.” Someone with the ability to cause great harm, but who has the power to withhold that strength unless circumstances necessitate action.

I like that.

Leave a note and make this writer's day! Share if you care!

