Salt and Light

T557d705c369bf2db0ee138c2deb45117here are just some  really neat things that happen as we partner with God to fulfill our calling.

I’ve been working on a new story I’m calling Transposed about a girl named Brynn who is used in the life of a young man named Nikolai. Together they seek to break a generational curse, and find themselves traveling through time to 1870’s Russia where they meet Kazimir, Nikolai’s 4x great-grandfather on whom the curse originated.

Now, I don’t really know if I love the name Brynn, but Brynn is what came to my mind when I started tapping out my first thoughts. I keep looking for something better, but Brynn it is. Now that I’ve finally realized this is this character’s name, and nothing else… I look for the meaning of the name. Brynn means hill. Ok… not spectacular. Not yet. Wait and see.

I’ve been praying about this story for weeks and this morning I’m waking up with new thoughts about how to tie the past with the present and perpetuate a blessing for the future in this story. I’m thinking Salt and Light. We are to be salt and light in our world. We cannot change the past, but we can change our future and bless those around us as salt and light in their world. The darkness cannot hold its place when light enters the atmosphere.

I Google search salt and light knowing there’s a scripture reference, but not sure what it is right off hand.

Salt and Light Matthew 5:13
13“You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt has become tasteless, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled under foot by men. 14“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; 15 nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.…

A city set on a HILL.

I don’t want to give any more spoilers… There are very neat things that perpetuate the use of salt and oil (light) in this story, and I’ve been thinking about those things for a while so it’s just so neat that they all tie in so wonderfully.

God is Wow. I love this partnership.

Photo: http://af-studios.deviantart.com/art/Fire-Within-Me-155600530

Leave a note and make this writer's day! Share if you care!

