The Formula For Success

It’girl-872149_640s been a good week. I hope that pesky middle section of  your WIP has finally found its way out of Nowhereville and is headed in the right direction. Now, stay focused on what is in your hands to manage.

If you trust your agent is doing his/her best to honor the contract you’ve signed, then let the publishing side of things go. It’s out of your hands. But, the story you are working on at the moment, that is yours. All yours. Keep the fire burning. This could be the novel that breaks into the industry. Don’t lose momentum by dwelling on your unpublished status.

I’ve heard it’s pretty rare a writer’s first novel will sell to a publisher first, or at all. We’ve all read snippets or heard stories about famous authors who took years of persistence to break into publishing. One I appreciate is Judy Blume’s “nothing but rejections for two straight years,” but there’s also Janet Evanovich’s ten year wait. Read more about the writer’s odds of success here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/william-dietrich/the-writers-odds-of-succe_b_2806611.html

This article also says it takes talent, persistence, and luck to break into publishing. We can control two of the three, and I argue even luck can be cultivated. Though I don’t call it luck, I call it faith.

The bottom line: If your manuscript is well written and unique, and you connect with the right people at the right time, you are bound to publish your work. That’s encouraging!

There are times I talk to others about the “nothing but rejections,” I’ve received. Their suspicious looks are discouraging. They think something’s not right with my agent/author contract, or that my story is no good, or that the time spent writing and waiting for a publisher is foolish. They all know someone who’s self-published, and try to convince me to go that route. But those people don’t know the industry. It takes time to make the connection with a publisher. Everyone’s timing will be different. There’s no formula for success. None other than writing amazing manuscripts!

I hope my wait is no longer than Judy Blume’s, but if it takes longer, I’m willing to remain persistent.

Let others have their opinion, but stay true to your goal. Something good is about to happen. Hold to that lifeline and never let go!


Psalm 27:13  (NKJV)

13 I would have lost heart, unless I had believed
That I would see the goodness of the Lord
In the land of the living.

Psalm 1:1-3  (NKJV)

1 Blessed is the man
Who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly,
Nor stands in the path of sinners,
Nor sits in the seat of the scornful;
But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
And in His law he meditates day and night.
He shall be like a tree
Planted by the rivers of water,
That brings forth its fruit in its season,
Whose leaf also shall not wither;
And whatever he does shall prosper.

Leave a note and make this writer's day! Share if you care!

