The Well Within

My husband and I have both been dealing with small, niggling physical issues that are not serious, just plain annoying.

We’ve prayed, confessed and believed for complete healing for these issues, but are still fighting the little foxes.

I begin my confessions of health and healing as soon as the hot water in my shower reminds me how blessed I am.

I say things I believe. I speak life over myself and my family. The same Spirit that rose Jesus Christ from the grave gives life to my/our flesh. We are free from the curse of sickness and disease-this includes the little pains and annoyances.

This morning I imagined stepping into the River of Life that flows from the throne of my Heavenly Father. I pictured my foot dipping into the water. I thought how wonderful it would be if we could step into that river today, and be free from these niggling things of earth. Cleansed. Unhindered.

The old camp song, Spring Up Oh Well, came to mind.

I’ve got a river of life flowing out of me

Makes the lame to walk, and the blind to see

Opens prison doors, sets the captives free

I’ve got a river of life flowing out of me

Spring up oh well, within my soul

Spring up oh well, and make me whole

Spring up oh well, and give to me

That life abundantly.


Later, I sat down to read my daily devotional. For August 29th, the scripture highlighted is Proverbs 4:23. “Keep guard your heart with all vigilance and above all that you guard, for out of it flows the springs of life.”

This is an example of how God speaks to me. Through this experience I am reminded of His truth. Specifically, that I must be aware of what is growing in my heart. If I want sweet healing water to flow from my spirit, I’d better not be allowing bitter things to poison the well. I can’t allow fear and doubt to grow where faith and victory have been planted.

Leave a note and make this writer's day! Share if you care!

