Infestation

Another night spent fighting these relentless bat wings caught in my hair. They don’t belong here, yet they’ve taken up residence. Pests.

I’ve caught a thousand already. But more arrive to take their place. Sometimes the same sharp teeth return again and again, though I’ve swatted them away with a hundred turns upon my bed and hidden from their scratching claws beneath my pillow.

You came through my window. I held your gaze for too long and allowed your cunning words to rest upon my neck. I know your venom will kill me, but I invited you in. Now, you cling to my soul with leather wings, and I regret believing I could keep you as my pet.

I must be vigilant. Lock the doors. Seal the sashes. The next time the night wings call at my window, they must crash into the glass.

pexels-photo-277566

Leave a note and make this writer's day! Share if you care!

